Sinusoidal extracellular stimulation

NMODL and the Channel Builder.
bee

Sinusoidal extracellular stimulation

Post by bee »

Hello everyone,

I built a model using Neuron and would like to use an extracellular electrode and apply a sinusoidal stimulating current. I read the extracellular mechanism and it seams like I would want to set vext[n] = rho*Iext(t)/(4*pi*(X^2 + (L*(n-11))^2)^(.5)) where rho is the external resistivity, X is the distance from the axon to the electrode (at a 90 degree angle), L is the internodal length, and Iext(t) is my stimulating current (this is for an axon with 21 nodes). Is it OK if I declare my Iext(t) = amp * sin(2*PI*(t)*f*) as a variable in my hoc file and then insert extracellular and set vext[n] equal to the equation above? I do not think that I understand this mechanism very well. This is my first time using neuron and would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you!
bee

Re: Sinusoidal extracellular stimulation

Post by bee »

I now understand that vext[n] is not the external voltage at each node. Also, I believe that I have to write an extra mod file for my sinusoidal stimulation and add it as a point process? I found a file called fsin.mod that does this but I am not sure how to deal with the pointer x. I would define the values for f, amp, del, and n in my hoc file right? But then there is also the xtra.mod file that works with the extracellular mechanism and I am confused about the different pointers and how to tie it all together.
ted
Site Admin

Post by ted »

A bit of clarification appears to be in order.
bee wrote:I now understand that vext[n] is not the external voltage at each node.