How to enter the parameters of a number of channels for a neuron?

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
guanbc

How to enter the parameters of a number of channels for a neuron?

Post by guanbc »

I am a beginner to studying NEURON, and have just read some relevant materials online. Now my colleague has given me the list of channels existing in a species of neuron she is studying, including 9 channels (eg.A channel, Kdr channel, HCN channel, Nav, CaHVA...) with their maximal conductances, reversal potentials, activation and inactivation parameters. How can I enter them into NEURON? It seems not enough to use Biophysics in Cell Builder only. Should I use Channel Builder or NMODL? I wonder whether the Channel Builder is enough or not.
BTW, our aim is to simulate the effect (voltage response) of square waveform current stimulation on the cell with all these channels. Our operation system is Windows 7.
Thanks.
ted
Site Admin

Re: How to enter the parameters of a number of channels for a neuron?

Post by ted »

Your first step has nothing to do with any of NEURON's tools. It is to use your most important tool: your own knowledge and judgement.

If you have the complete mathematical description for a particular channel--by which I mean the equations that describe the voltage dependency of the gating states' rate constants AND the numerical values of the parameters of those equations--then it might be easiest to use the Channel Builder to add it to NEURON. Or maybe you'd rather check ModelDB for NEURON models of the same type of neuron (or similar types of neurons), see whether those models include mod files that define ion channels with properties identical to what you need, or at least similar enough to what you need so that you can reuse them after making minor changes.

If you don't have a complete mathematical description for a particular channel, then you definitely should check ModelDB for NEURON models with mod files that define similar channels.