neuron-matlab interface

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
ovidiu

neuron-matlab interface

Post by ovidiu »

Hi all

I am calling Neuron from Matlab using the shell escape, and executing a hoc file. However, I do not want the shell and hoc prompt to show up, I just want the hoc to run and save its results to a file and then execute quit(). All of this works OK in Windows XP.

Is anyone aware of a way to inhibit the hoc shell and prompt from showing up?

At the least, I would like the minimum amount to be printed out. The documentation for modifying __BANNER, or -silent option is unclear to me.

thanks
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6305
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Post by ted »

Under *nix,

Code: Select all

nrniv filename
will launch NEURON (without its GUI), read filename, do whatever filename tells it to,
and quit. The xterm opens up, but it closes after the end of program execution. If you
ever want it to stay open,

Code: Select all

nrniv filename -
emu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Kumamoto, Japan

NEURON MATLAB interface

Post by emu »

hi all,

I would like to learn how to make the interface between matlab and NEURON. How can I do that using shell escape in matlab? is it possible to change NEURON model parameters or manipulate NEURON graphs using MATLAB?

thanks,

murat.
hines
Site Admin
Posts: 1692
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:32 pm

Post by hines »

Code: Select all

 ssh -X localhost nrniv -isatty
should tell you everything you need to know
emu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Kumamoto, Japan

Post by emu »

thanks for the reply,

I could not figure out how to use

Code: Select all

ssh -X localhost nrniv -isatty
maybe it is because I am using Windows XP.

In Matlab, I tried to run

Code: Select all

!nrniv myprogram.hoc -isatty
then I was able to use MATLAB command window as NEURON command window. Also, when I init&run my hoc program, seperate windows appeared same as the case that I dont use MATLAB.

Is there any way to see my NEURON variables in MATLAB workspace.

Sorry if my questions are too fundemental but I cannot find how to do.

thanks.
Post Reply