Updating procedures

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
Post Reply
claudioez
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:19 am

Updating procedures

Post by claudioez »

Dear Ted,

Probably this question came up before but I couldn´t find it. Being a total newbie, I created a GUI (using xpanel) that suited my particular needs for exploratory experiments. I start neuron by loading a set of .hoc files that contain procedures for topology, biophysics, panels, point process, customized graphs, etc. How can I change and update any of the loaded procedures without restarting neuron? I tried reloading the hoc files but this doesn´t produce the desired effect.

Thanks, Claudio.
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Updating procedures

Post by ted »

Since hoc is an interpreted language, any procedure or function can be overwritten. Just xopen a file that contains the new definition of the proc or func.
claudioez
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:19 am

Re: Updating procedures

Post by claudioez »

Thanks Ted, that worked perfectly.
Post Reply