Running neuroConstruct Model

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
DKPOWA

Running neuroConstruct Model

Post by DKPOWA »

Hi everyone,

My name is Maxi, I'm a biologist, and I'm doing my PhD on neuroinformatics, modelling neural networks. I'm using Ubuntu 13.10 64-bit, I have installed both neuroConstruct 1.6.0 and Neuron 7.3.

When I run neurondemo I get:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NEURON -- VERSION 7.3 ansi (1078:2b0c984183df) 2014-04-04
Duke, Yale, and the BlueBrain Project -- Copyright 1984-2014
See http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/credits

loading membrane mechanisms from /usr/local/nrn/share/nrn/demo/release/x86_64/.libs/libnrnmech.so
Additional mechanisms from files
cabpump.mod cachan1.mod camchan.mod capump.mod invlfire.mod khhchan.mod mcna.mod nacaex.mod nachan.mod release.mod
nrniv: unable to open font "*helvetica-medium-r-normal*--14*", using "fixed"
oc>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ending with this self introduction, my problem:

Whenever I try to create a hoc simulation in neuroConstruct to run it on Neuron, I get the following error:
Problem with the compilation. File doesn't exist: home/"user"/"location of ncx file"/generatedNEURON/x86_64/libnrnmech.la
Please note that Neuron check's every *.mod file in this file's home directory
(home/user/location of ncx file/generatedNEURON)

I must admit I'm both new on Ubuntu and neuroC/NEURON, but I think I followed installing and operating instructions well enough, so I really don't understand what is wrong. If this is a simple/stupid mistake, I deeply apologize but I will be very grateful for it's solution.

Kinds regards,
Maxi
ted
Site Admin

Re: Running neuroConstruct Model

Post by ted »

DKPOWA wrote:nrniv: unable to open font "*helvetica-medium-r-normal*--14*", using "fixed"