Code: Getting Value of Voltage at end of current pulse

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
TrZ

Code: Getting Value of Voltage at end of current pulse

Post by TrZ »

Hi,
I am new to NEURON and am trying to code a model in Python of a Section with current injected into it under current clamp. I am trying to plot a graph of the voltage at the end of the current pulse versus the amplitude of the current pulse for various current amplitudes. So far my voltages are stored in a single vector for each run. However, from the programmer's reference Vector.record() notes, it seems to me that the vector does not record all the voltages from the stream of voltages. Then is there a way to get the value of the voltage at a given exact time point?
Thank you for the help! I am having difficulty finding my answer from the documentation.
ted
Site Admin

Re: Code: Getting Value of Voltage at end of current pulse

Post by ted »

from the programmer's reference Vector.record() notes, it seems to me that the vector does not record all the voltages from the stream of voltages.
Hmm, if the documentation of Vector.record is that vague, we need to fix it. Can you point to (or quote) the particular part that led to your question?

And regarding your particular use of Vector.record: are you using fixed time step integration or adaptive integration ("cvode")?
TrZ

Post by TrZ »

Thank you for the reply!
For the first question I found that " At the end of fadvance, var will be saved if t (after being incremented by fadvance) is equal or greater than the associated time of the next index." I am assuming if t does not meet the criteria, var(t) for that t will not be saved in the vector.
For the secnd question, I did not set a dt value. For that reason I am assuming I am using fixed time step integration.
The line in my code that creates the vector that is relevant here is:
vn = h.Vector().record(axon(0.5)._ref_v)