Can't Load .mod files in Python Script

Liz_Stan_88

Can't Load .mod files in Python Script

Post by Liz_Stan_88 »

Good Day Neuron Community,

I am having a slight issue with accessing my mod files in my python script.
I am new to using Neuron and Python on a Mac (M1), and I am struggling in setting up the new method of h.nrn_load_dll for mac. I assume I have done everything correctly namely these steps below:
1. Dragging and dropping the folder containing all the .mod files onto mknrndll. This creates a folder named arm64, containing the .o and .c files for the various .mod files as well as a libnrnmech.dylib, special, makemod2c_inc, mod_func.cpp, mod_func.o, special.dSYM files. The response of the mknrndll terminal is successful as well, it contains no errors.

2. When clicking on the special file it opens the terminal stating:

Code: Select all

lizzy@Lizzys-MacBook-Air ~ % /Users/lizzy/Downloads/2022\ M/Neuron\ Mod\ Files/arm64/special ; exit;
NEURON -- VERSION 8.2.0 HEAD (156b9dee3) 2022-07-01
Duke, Yale, and the BlueBrain Project -- Copyright 1984-2021
See http://neuron.yale.edu/neuron/credits

Additional mechanisms from files
 "hcnobo.mod" "ipulse1.mod" "ipulse2.mod" "ipulse3.mod" "jsrnaf.mod" "kht.mod" "klt.mod" "leak.mod" "vecevent.mod"
Thus my assumption is that the mechanisms are accessible in neuron.

3. In my very basic python script (for debugging purposes) where I want to use these mechanisms I do as follows:

from neuron import h,gui 
h.nrn_load_dll("/Users/lizzy/Downloads/2022 M/Neuron Mod Files/arm64")
soma = h.Section(name='soma')
soma.insert('klt')
The returning error when running this python script is:

File "/Users/lizzy/Downloads/2022 M/test.py", line 4, in <module>
    soma.insert('klt')
ValueError: argument not a density mechanism name.