Getting started. Again.

plasticity

Getting started. Again.

Post by plasticity »

I introduced myself to NEURON a couple years ago before getting distracted by more macroscopic neuroscience questions. Now I am back to increasing my understanding of the microscopic. I am back to NEURON.

I am a physicist and I have done previous reading about the cable equation, the HH equations and simple models of neuron behavior. Here’s my present stumbling block: I do not understand what the scope of NEURON is and I do not understand which mathematical models underpin that scope. My question: How do I fix these gaps in my understanding? I would like to make significant progress in fixing those gaps in my knowledge before taking the NEURON course.
ted
Site Admin

Re: Getting started. Again.

Post by ted »

Welcome, physicist. The center of NEURON's domain of utility is mechanistic modeling of biological neurons and networks in which the complex anatomical and biophysical properties of cells (including but not limited to ion channels) and the interconnections between them are important. NEURON models can also involve point neurons such as single compartment reductions of biophysical model cells and dynamical abstractions including Izhikevich, Morris-Lecar, adex, and garden variety integrate and fire "cells". The anatomical scale of a NEURON model can range from representations of intra- and/or extracellular reaction-diffusion, subcellular structures (individual neurites, spines, cytoplasmic organelles), to very large scale network models (see especially the European Human Brain Project). Simulations can be executed on individual processors or can take advantage of multithreaded parallelization and/or MPI-dependent distributed execution.