Assigning values to a mechanism over all sections in anatomically detailed model

When Python is the interpreter, what is a good
design for the interface to the basic NEURON
concepts.

Moderator: hines

aliaped

Assigning values to a mechanism over all sections in anatomically detailed model

Post by aliaped »

Hi there,

First off, thank you for taking the time to look into my question.

I am new to scripting in python, but have been working with .hoc and neuron for the last year or so.

I am trying to do something in python that seems elementary, and can be done in the .hoc interpreter with one line of code. I want to set the value of eh (reversal potential for h_ion) across all sections in a preexisting .ses file (containing both a rig and a cell builder) to -38 mV. I have loaded the file into my jupyter notebook and can interact with it using point processes just fine, but cannot figure out how to modify this density mechanism. All the required .mod files have been loaded as well.

In hoc, this could be done with:

Code: Select all

forsec all{eh = -38}
I have tried to do this in python in two ways:

1. Using the dictionary function of section.psection():

for sec in h.all:
    sec.psection()['ions']['h']['eh']=-38
and just incase it is a dict vs list thing, as eh is a list, I also tried:

for sec in h.all:
    sec.psection()['ions']['h']['eh'][0]=-38
It seems the dictionary returned this way is a copy, rather than a pointer? I looked at the psection() class in the python source code, and I do understand why this didn't work.

Then I tried:

2. Iterating through all the sections as such, which returns the class nrn.Mechanism, which I cannot figure out how to modify.

for sec in h.all:
    for seg in sec.allseg():
        for mech in seg:
            ##{some mysterious statement that will allow me to modify the contents of mech}