Optimization of single cell models

Using the Multiple Run Fitter, praxis, etc..
Yaeger

Optimization of single cell models

Post by Yaeger »

Hi,

I am trying to optimize a model of an oscillating single-compartment neuron to get it to oscillate (and "rest") at a specific membrane potential. I've written python code to create a class for my neuron (using Neuron) and then by creating hundreds of thousands of instances of the model with parameters randomized around a set point, I have been to able to find a few oscillating neurons. However, all of these models rest at a membrane potential that is more positive than I would like. Does anyone have any suggestions? I know I need to use optimization but I'm a newbie when it comes to this sort of optimization. What would be the easiest way to do optimization? Are there pre-existing tools, especially ones that work with well with python, or do I need to create my own pipeline?

Thanks,
Dan
ted
Site Admin

Re: Optimization of single cell models

Post by ted »

I don't know what it means to say that an oscillating model has a resting potential (unless the model's phase space has a feature that separates trajectories that collapse to a stable node from trajectories that don't).

There are many ways to shift the resting potential of a model that has a resting potential, without altering the model's dynamics. A trivial way is to shift all ionic equilibrium potentials and the voltage dependencies of all gating variables by the desired amount.
Yaeger

Post by Yaeger »