the Qt platform plugin

RBJ
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:28 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by RBJ »

Output of sys.dir with the Bash window (Neuron all works well)

Code: Select all

['', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2', 'c:\\nrn\\ningw\\bin', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anac
onda2\\scripts', 'c:\\nrn\\lib\\python', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\python27.z
ip', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\DLLs', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib', 'c:\
\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\plat-win', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\lib-t
k', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda
2\\lib\\site-packages\\Sphinx-1.6.2-py2.7.egg', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib
\\site-packages\\win32', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\win32\
\lib', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\Pythonwin', 'c:\\Program
Data\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\setuptools-27.2.0-py2.7.egg']
Output of sys.dir from nrniv_python

Code: Select all

['c:\\nrn\\bin', '', 'c:\\nrn\\bin', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2', 'c:\\nrn\\nin
gw\\bin', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\scripts', 'c:\\nrn\\lib\\python', 'c:\\Pr
ogramData\\Anaconda2\\python27.zip', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\DLLs', 'c:\\Pr
ogramData\\Anaconda2\\lib', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\plat-win', 'c:\\Pr
ogramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\lib-tk', 'c:\\nrn\\bin', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\
\lib\\site-packages', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\Sphinx-1.
6.2-py2.7.egg', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\win32', 'c:\\Pr
ogramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packages\\win32\\lib', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anacond
a2\\lib\\site-packages\\Pythonwin', 'c:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda2\\lib\\site-packa
ges\\setuptools-27.2.0-py2.7.egg', 'c:/nrn/lib/python']
Thanks so much for your time!
R.
hines
Site Admin
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:32 pm

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by hines »

"This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "windows" in "". "
The most robust work around is to launch python and import neuron.
In regard to launching nrniv -python (or using the icon) You may also have luck with copying the qt.conf file (in the same folder as python.exe) to c:/nrn/bin
That worked for me with anaconda python3. It failed with anaconda python2 because of because of incompatible c libraries.
RBJ
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:28 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by RBJ »

Thanks!
hines
Site Admin
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:32 pm

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by hines »

The R6034 crash with nrniv and anaconda2 (4.3.1) with pyplot.figure was avoided by linking nrniv.exe against msvcr90.dll using the Microsoft.VC90.CRT.manifest.
The setup.exe is http://www.neuron.yale.edu/ftp/neuron/v ... -setup.exe
This was tested for Anaconda2 (4.3.1), Anaconda3 (4.3.1) (python 3.6), and Anaconda3 (4.1.1) (python 3.5). The first two required a copy of qt.conf into c:/nrn/bin
(there is no such file in Anaconda 4.1.1 and apparently it is not needed for that version).

Code: Select all

from matplotlib import pyplot
pyplot.figure(figsize=(8,4))
pyplot.show()
works for all these cases.
RBJ
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:28 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by RBJ »

Thanks very much, am on Teaching duties for a while now; will feedback when I have tried this!
BW R.
RBJ
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:28 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: the Qt platform plugin

Post by RBJ »

Image
All working beautifully now. Thank you so much for your help!!
Now for some science!!
Post Reply