Input impedance

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
Sherif
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:32 pm

Input impedance

Post by Sherif » Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:41 pm

Hi all,

I used the following function to measure the input impedance of a neuron model; however, when I printed the variable Zin I got "nan". Any advice on what could be the reason for that?

Code: Select all

proc Compute_Zin() { localobj z

	z = new Impedance()		
	soma { z.loc(0.5) } 
	z.compute(1, 1) 								
                    	
	Zin = 0
	soma { Zin = z.input(0.5) } 
	print "Input impedance: ", Zin
}
By the way, when I removed the line on "z.compute(1, 1)", Zin printed 0. No extracellular or LinearMechanism is included in the model, just standard active conductances.

Thanks

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5592
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Input impedance

Post by ted » Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:43 am

Seems strange to me. Does
soma psection()
work?
What happens if you execute
finitialize(-65)
before doing any impedance calculation?

Sherif
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:32 pm

Re: Input impedance

Post by Sherif » Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:30 pm

psection() works fine before or after calling the impedance calculations. Also, finitialize(-65) works fine (prints 1 on the command line) with no error messages before or after the impedance calculations.

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5592
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Input impedance

Post by ted » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:30 pm

OK, guess I'll have to be able to reproduce the problem in order to figure out what's wrong. If you zip up the necessary hoc, ses, and mod files, and email it to me
ted dot carnevale at yale dot edu
I'll take a look.

Sherif
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:32 pm

Re: Input impedance

Post by Sherif » Mon Jun 27, 2011 12:15 pm

Hi All,

Ted was able to fix the problem. The fix was placing an finitialize(-65) statement at the beginning of the Compute_Zin() procedure. This statrement was necessary for initializing the gating states properly.

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5592
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Input impedance

Post by ted » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:29 pm

And if you had a model that has a different resting potential, just finitialize() to that potential instead of -65.

Post Reply