Cannot Find X11

OspreyNeurons

Cannot Find X11

Post by OspreyNeurons »

Hello all, I am new to this program/forum so please pardon my limited knowledge of running Neuron. My issue arose when trying to run a model that was initially compiled and run on a Windows machine. I thought it may have something to do with now trying to run it on a Mac but that doesn't seem to be why most of these issues arise. I found instructions on compiling the standard distribution under OS x (http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/downl ... sx#prereqs) and thought maybe following them would correct my error. I am not certain if it will or not because I am being halted when trying to set up the interview.

It stops when trying to detect X:
checking sys/conf.h presence... yes
checking for sys/conf.h... yes
checking for X... no
configure: error: cannot find X11

I saw a post about this same issue that said you should have libsm-devel and python-devel. I have xQuartz, does this give me what I need? I downloaded libsm-devel and python-devel development packages with .rpm but I don't know what to do with them now.

Can somebody please point me in the right direction with this?

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 with Neuron 7.3 (32bit). My original error was when I tried to open the model .hoc file and received this message:
error
in NSClusterTest_2011.hoc near line 209
forall insert na
^

Again please forgive my lack of understanding as I am sure this question has been answered many times.

Thanks,
Kevin
hines
Site Admin

Re: Cannot Find X11

Post by hines »

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 with Neuron 7.3 (32bit). My original error was when I tried to open the model .hoc file and received this message:
error
in NSClusterTest_2011.hoc near line 209
forall insert na
^
The snow leopard 32 bit version of NEURON uses the CARBON library and does not use X11.
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/ftp/neuron/v ... SX10.6.dmg