How to change parameter used in NMODL for channel kinetics in hoc

NMODL and the Channel Builder.
zylittlep

How to change parameter used in NMODL for channel kinetics in hoc

Post by zylittlep »

Hi all,

I'm new to NEURON and trying to build a one segment model with different ion channels.
I'm wondering how to simultaneously change parameters used in mod files in hoc and view plots. As an example, I'd like to change parameters such as vhkv1ninf, kkv1ninf, etc. as in the mod file below. As for now, I can access these parameters but changing the values from hoc do not have any impact on the channel kinetics. Thank you very much!

Code: Select all

UNITS {
    (mV) = (millivolt)
    (mA) = (milliamp)
    (S) = (siemens)
}

NEURON {
    SUFFIX kv1
    USEION k READ ek WRITE ik
    RANGE gkv1bar, gkv1, ik
    GLOBAL vhkv1ninf, kkv1ninf, akv1ntaul, bkv1ntaul, ckv1ntaul, dkv1ntaul, akv1ntaur, bkv1ntaur, ckv1ntaur,dkv1ntaur
    GLOBAL akv1hinf, bkv1hinf, vhkv1hinf, kkv1hinf, akv1htaul, bkv1htaul, ckv1htaul, dkv1htaul, akv1htaur, bkv1htaur, ckv1htaur, dkv1htaur
}

PARAMETER{ 
    gkv1bar = 0.0015 (S/cm2):to adjust according to Pin's DRG recording
    ek = -99 (mV): From Pin paper check Figure4 legend
    vhkv1ninf = -61
    kkv1ninf = 14.3
    akv1ntaul = 0
    bkv1ntaul = 4.59
    ckv1ntaul = -56
    dkv1ntaul = 15.4
    akv1ntaur = 0.21
    bkv1ntaur = 5.6
    ckv1ntaur = -96
    dkv1ntaur = 19.6
    akv1hinf = 0.5
    bkv1hinf = 0.5
    vhkv1hinf = -58.5
    kkv1hinf = 7.5
    akv1htaul = 7.4
    bkv1htaul = 117
    ckv1htaul = -65
    dkv1htaul = 10.7
    akv1htaur = 2.5
    bkv1htaur = 109.5
    ckv1htaur = -36.8
    dkv1htaur = 6.3
}

ASSIGNED{
    v (mV)
    ik (mA/cm2)
    gkv1 (S/cm2)
    ninfkv1
    hinfkv1
    ntaukv1 (ms) 
    htaukv1 (ms)

}

STATE{
    nkv1 hkv1
}

BREAKPOINT{
    SOLVE states METHOD cnexp

gkv1 = gkv1bar * nkv1^4 * hkv1
    ik = gkv1 * (v - ek)
}

UNITSOFF

INITIAL{
    settables(v)
    nkv1 = ninfkv1
    hkv1 = hinfkv1
}

DERIVATIVE states{