Connecting 2 neurons

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
ehb

Connecting 2 neurons

Post by ehb »

Hello,

I am new to programming on Neuron. I am trying to create 2 neurons (each with 1 soma, 1 dendrite and 1 axon). I connected axon1 with dend2 and then I connected axon2 with dend1. I also put an IClamp to stimulate soma1. I am expecting that initial stimulation to produce a continuous closed-loop excitatory state. However, I am getting an error with my NexCon source value: &axon1. I still receive an error if include .v(0.5). Do you know what I am doing incorrectly?

Here is my code:

Code: Select all

load_file("nrngui.hoc")

create soma1

soma1 {
nseg = 1
diam = 30
L = 30
Ra = 100.0
insert hh
insert pas	
}

create dend1

dend1 {
nseg = 23
diam = 1
L = 600
Ra = 100
insert hh
insert pas
}

create axon1

axon1 {
nseg = 3
diam = 1
L = 1000
Ra = 100
insert hh
insert pas
}

// Connect parts together

connect dend1(0), soma1(0)
connect axon1(0), soma1(1)

// create an electrode in the soma

objectvar stim 
soma1 {
stim = new IClamp(0.5)
stim.del = 100
stim.dur = 5
stim.amp = .45
}
tstop = 500

// SECOND IDENTICAL NEURON

create soma2

soma2 {
nseg = 1
diam = 30
L = 30
Ra = 100.0
insert hh
insert pas	
}

create dend2

dend2 {
nseg = 23
diam = 1
L = 600
Ra = 100
insert hh
insert pas
}

create axon2

axon2 {
nseg = 3
diam = 1
L = 1000
Ra = 100
insert hh
insert pas
}

// Connect parts together

connect dend2(0), soma2(0)
connect axon2(0), soma2(1)

// Placing synapse on dend2

objectvar syn1 
dend2 {
syn1 = new Exp2Syn(0.5)
syn1.tau1 = 0.5
syn1.tau2 = 1.0
syn1.e = 0
}

// Connecting axon1 to dend2
objectvar connection1 
connection1 = new NetCon(&axon1, syn1, -20, 1, 1 ))

// Placing synapse on dend1

objectvar syn2 
dend1 {
syn2 = new Exp2Syn(0.5)
syn2.tau1 = 0.5
syn2.tau2 = 1.0
syn2.e = 0
}

// Connecting axon2 to axon1
objectvar connection2
connection2 = new NetCon(&axon2, syn2, -20, 1, 1 ))

ted
Site Admin

Re: Connecting 2 neurons

Post by ted »