Making whole cells out of Mcintyre myelinated axon model (2002) and testing short and long-term plasticity between them

Managing anatomically complex model cells with the CellBuilder. Importing morphometric data with NEURON's Import3D tool or Robert Cannon's CVAPP. Where to find detailed morphometric data.
moeskiski

Making whole cells out of Mcintyre myelinated axon model (2002) and testing short and long-term plasticity between them

Post by moeskiski »

Hello,

I am very new to programming, computation, and mathematics (dynamics and statistics).

I'm currently developing a detailed model of 2 (up to 5) connected neurons that need to have myelinated axons. I will stimulate an axon at a single Node of Ranvier in its center to elicit action potentials in the somas that lie bidirectionally to it. I want to see short and long-term plastic changes (use-dependent plasticity or any other measure) at the synapses and measure the changes.

I've followed the available online tutorials (http://www.kem.org/neuron/prog4.html and http://www.cs.stir.ac.uk/~bpg/Teaching/ ... prog4.html) and looked through the NEURON documentation. I've had lots of trouble getting Python to run NEURON on Windows so I've limited myself to using hoc in Notepad to focus on getting the model to work instead of technical issues.

Based on what I read I've modified the Mcintyre myelinated axon model to include a soma and dendrites, then made a template out of it and replicated it so that I have 3 cells in total. The three cells are connected to one another using NetCon by connecting precell and postsyn. The postsyn uses ExpSyn.

Currently, I have been facing issues getting to where I need to be to see the results I want: